Pete Townshend To Reissue 'Rough Mix,' 'Empty Glass' On Half-Speed Mastered Vinyl

The first in a series of half speed mastered studio albums from Pete TownshendRough Mix and Empty Glass – will be released via UMe on June 23.

These limited-edition black vinyl versions have been half-speed mastered by long-time Who engineer Jon Astley and cut for vinyl by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios.

Rough Mix is presented in a gatefold sleeve, and Empty Glass features a full-color inner bag with full lyrics and a 12″ x 24″ poster.

Rough Mix was initially released in September 1977 while The Who were on hiatus and was a collaboration with late Small Faces bassist Ronnie Lane and features contributions from Who bassist John Entwistle, Eric Clapton, and Rolling Stones drummer Charlie Watts, among others.

Produced by Chris Thomas, Empty Glass was Townshend’s next solo release, arriving in April 1980. The songs predominantly deal with issues Townshend was struggling with at the time, including alcohol, drugs, and the death of Keith Moon, the Who’s former drummer.

The limited-edition black vinyl versions are available for pre-order at, and

Pete Townshend Rough Mix – Half Speed Mastered Vinyl Track List:

Side 1
My Baby Gives It Away
Nowhere To Run
Rough Mix
Keep Me Turning

Side 2
April Fool
Street In The City
Heart To Hang Onto
Till The Rivers Run Dry

Pete Townshend Empty Glass – Half Speed Mastered Vinyl Track List:

Rough Boys
I Am An Animal
And I Moved
Let my Love Open The Door
Jools And Jim

Keep On Working
Cat’s In The Cupboard
A Little Is Enough
Empty Glass
Gonna Get Ya

Source: Read Full Article