Best New Tracks: 6LACK, Lana Del Rey, Hit-Boy and More

As the week in music comes to a close, HYPEBEAST has rounded up the best projects for the latest installment of Best New Tracks.

This week’s lineup is led by 6LACK, Lana Del Rey and Hit-Boy, who each released the albums Since I Have A Lover, Did You Know That There’s A Tunnel Under Ocean Blvd and SURF OR DROWN, respectively. Also joining this week’s selections are fresh offerings from JPEGMAFIA and Danny Brown, Victony with Don Toliver, Rema and Tempoe, Jimin of BTS, Kofi, Fall Out Boy, ICECOLDBISHOP and Yaya Bey.

6LACK – Since I Have A Lover

6LACK drops off his first studio album in five years, Since I Have A Lover. The 19-track record -track record features only two guest appearances from QUIN on “wunna dem” and Don Toliver on “Temporary,” and follows 2018’s East Atlanta Love Letter.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Lana Del Rey – Did You Know That There’s A Tunnel Under Ocean Blvd

Lana Del Rey delivers her most personal album yet with Did You Know That There’s A Tunnel Under Ocean Blvd, which features Jon Batiste, SYML, Riopy, Father John Misty, Bleachers and Tommy Genesis. The deeply intricate record reunites the singer with frequent collaborator and producer Jack Antonoff, and even hears her sample her own Norman F*cking Rockwell! track “Venice Bitch” on the final song “Taco Truck x VB.”

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music


Hit-Boy enlists the likes of Nas, Jay 305, Dom Kennedy, Curren$y, The Alchemist and more for his latest solo studio record, SURF OR DROWN. The 21-track project also arrives with the instrumentals of all the songs, with the producer encouraging fans who used his instrumentals for their songs to send it his way. “#idothisfortheculture and this is just Vol.1,” he added on Twitter.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

JPEGMAFIA x Danny Brown – Scaring The Hoes

JPEGMAFIA and Danny Brown join forces for one of the most exciting collaborations of the year, Scaring The Hoes. The record arrives almost a year since it was first teased, and includes a total of 14 tracks with a sole feature from redveil.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Jimin – FACE

Jimin is the latest BTS member to release his solo project in the form of FACE. Clocking in at approximately 20 minutes, the record features a total of 6 six tracks including an English version of “Like Crazy,” with the original arriving with an accompanying music video.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Victony x Don Toliver x Rema x Tempoe – “Soweto”

Victony and Tempoe release a brand new version of their hit single “Soweto,” this time joining forces with Don Toliver and Rema. “I’m so happy this version is finally being released to fans. Took my time to make this a special track with two of the best artists out there and I’m excited to have it out for everyone to hear!” Victony shared in a statement.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Fall Out Boy – So Much (For) Stardust

Fall Out Boy return with their eight studio album So Much (For) Stardust, which hears the band reunite with producer Neal Avron, who worked on their previous records From Under the Cork Tree, Infinity on High and Folie à Deux. “Technology has made it really easy to make records much more quickly these days. There’s nothing wrong with that, and that spontaneity can be exciting,” frontman Patrick Stump said in a statement. “But we wanted to get back to the way we used to work. We wanted to make a record that was really lovingly crafted and deliberate and patiently guided – like someone cooked you a delicate meal. I’m not a very proud guy, but I’m pretty proud of this record.”

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Kofi – Just To Piss You Off

Kofi is here Just To Piss You Off with his latest EP. The six-track project features Boslen, Dom Vallie and Kuami Eugene, and is described by the artist himself as the “pettiest” EP he’s ever released yet. “Even the sweet songs are written just to piss her off,” he cheekily added.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music


ICECOLDBISHOP is laying everything on the table with his major label debut album GENERATIONAL CURSE. The bold, 13-track record was previewed by a trailer teasing the examination of the gun and drug epidemic in different lenses, with the aim pointed at politicians and pharmaceutical companies “failing communities across the country.”

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Yaya Bey – Exodus the North Star

Yaya Bey continues the story of Remember Your North Star with her newest project, Exodus the North Star. Fusing r&B, soul, jazz, reggae, afrobeat, hip-hop and house music, the artist calls it her “most vulnerable work to date,” adding, “This is how I see joy and love in the world and what I aspire to feel and be. I have become an expert at turning my pain and grief as a black woman into music. Black people have a masterful way of telling our stories and sharing pain, but we’re also masters of joy and imagination. We have always been in a global conversation about how to alchemize our experiences and reimagine our circumstances. From the ties between Lovers Rock and R&B to Gospel and House. Our joy is a collective effort.”

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music
Source: Read Full Article