Sticky Carpet

There's been little if any detail from Nick Cave, from anybody in the Bad Seeds or anybody else remotely connected to the making of new album Ghosteen, which is being revealed for the first time today. Released around the world on all digital platforms on October 4 and on vinyl and CD on November 8, the 17th studio album from Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds was recorded in various studios from Malibu to Berlin and Cave's home town of Brighton in the UK in 2018 and the early part of this year.

The new album is being released in two parts, similar to 2004's acclaimed Abbatoir Blues/The Lyre of Orpheus.

Nick Cave will be at the Opera House in an evening of talking and music.Credit:Gosha Rubchinsky

"The songs on the first album are the children (and) the songs on the second album are their parents. Ghosteen is a migrating spirit," according to Cave, who two months ago was in Australia, on stage with fellow Bad Seeds member Warren Ellis and the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, performing songs from their extensive catalogue of film scores.

Ghosteen comes three years after the last Bad Seeds album Skeleton Tree and almost seven years since Push the Sky Away, the last Bad Seeds album to feature Conway Savage, who died a year ago. The new double album will premiere in full on YouTube today and is the final part of a trilogy of albums that include the band's past two releases. As well as Ellis, Ghosteen also features guitarist George Vjestica, Martyn Casey on bass, drummer Thomas Wydler and Jim Sclavunos (vibraphone, percussion).

Nick Cave and the Bad SeedsCredit:VMPR

album of the week
Floyd Thursby
To Those in Flames

Until recently Melbourne-based folk/roots artist Floyd Thursby was crafting songs at night and working a full-time day job.

That all changed when he tossed in the 9 to 5 stuff, hit the road and turned his attention fully to music.

His latest album, produced by Marty Brown (Art of Fighting, Clare Bowditch) is a heartfelt collection of tracks, mostly written while travelling and honed with the sweetest of attention to detail in the studio.

While lyrically there's much to enjoy, Thursby's guitar playing, on the title track in particular, is quite simply a moment to savour.

Ode To Joy – Wilco
All Mirrors – Angel Olsen
The Lost Anxiety Tapes – Spencer P. Jones featuring Cow Penalty

Source: Read Full Article