deem spencer Announces Sophomore LP ‘adultSW!M,’ Drops New Single and Music Video “27”

Poetic rapper deem spencer will be following up on 2019’s Pretty Face and last year’s Deem’s Tape mixtapes with another full-length record. The South Jamaican, Queens-raised rapper has revealed that he’ll be dropping his sophomore studio album, called adultSW!M, on March 3 via the label drink sum wtr.

“This is the most confident I’ve ever felt in presenting myself to the world. I feel like all my music previously was me talking to myself,” spencer said of the album. “Intentionally, I wanted to represent myself very specifically but also put on for quiet people like me. Right now is the first time I feel like I’ve got something bigger than me.”

Coinciding with the announcement, spencer has given fans a preview of the record on the new track “27.” Produced by Spenser Williams with a guest appearance from DaVionne, the single centers on the loss of spencer’s grandfather, along with anxieties around the 27 Club theory, where acclaimed talents throughout the decades – such as Amy Winehouse, Kurt Cobain and Jimi Hendrix– have passed away at the age 27.

“The song ‘27’ is me pleading for the universe to protect me from the cliche curses of fame,” spencer said. Throughout the song, I deal with the struggle between fear of death and my desire to live a complete life.”

adultSW!M will clock in at 12 songs in total, scattered with an eclectic lineup of guest artists. In addition to DaVionne, Orion Sun will appear on “I will die on your hill,” while Eliza Moon and KEYAH/BLU feature on “come down.” Moon returns for a second set of guest bars on “how far we’ve come” alongside MAVI, and DRAM appears on “ungrateful you.”

Listen to deem spencer’s new single “27” and watch the official music video above. adultSW!M is out for streaming on March 3.

In other music news, SZA shared an acoustic rendition of the SOS cut “Kill Bill.”
Source: Read Full Article